**9 OCTOBER 2008** 

# INTERNATIONAL PRIZE FOR ARCHITECTURE



Barbara Cappochin onternational Prize 2005, Igarashi Jun, architect

### **BIENNIAL BARBARA CAPPOCHIN PRIZE 2009**

The third edition of this biennial prize aims to heighten awareness and associate the different actors in the world of architecture: planners, builders and customers, in promoting the quality of planning and construction, in naturel and urban contexts.

The international prize will honour an architectural work, completed between the 1st July 2006 and 30th June 2009, that expresses a vision of the future as an expression of respect for the past.

Organised by the Barbara Cappochin Foundation, this international prize is approved by the International Union of Architects (UIA) and the National Councilof Italian Architects, Planners, Landscape architects and Conservationists (CNAPPC).

#### CHARACTERISTICS OF SUBMISSIONS

The prize is open to architects worldwide or multidisciplinary teams led by architects. Works can belong to any of the following categories:

- Public or private residences
- Commercial, administrative, or mixed use buildings
- Public facilities (educational, cultural, sports, leisure or health care)
- Landscape architecture

# **PRIZES**

A number of prizes will be awarded:

- An international Grand Prize worth 65 000 euros
- A special prize of 6 000 euros for quality detail in architectural and construction elements
- A prize of 6 000 euros will be awarded to a realisation located in the province of Padua
- Giancarlo lus Gold Medal will be awarded tot the most innovative work in the field of energy saving and renewable technologies.



Barbara Cappochin International Prize 2007 Matti Sanaksenaho,

architect

#### **JURY**

The international jury is composed as follows:

- Raffaele Sirica, architect, CNAPPC President, (Italy)
- Fulvio Irace, architect, President of the architecture section of the Milan triennial (Italy)
- Gaëtan Siew, architect (Mauritius), UIA Immediate pas President
- Kengo Kuma, architect, (Japn)
- Jordy Qerol, architect (Spain)
- Nikos Fintikakis, architect (Greece)
- Fabrizio Mangoni, architect (Italy)
- · Matias Sambarino, architecte (Uruguay) Deputy member

## **SCHEDULE**

- Opening date for receiving registrations/ entries
- Closing date for receiving entries/entries

• Jury meeting

9 April 2009 30 June 2009 23-25 July 2009

## PARTICIPATION PROCEDURE

Competitors must register on-line at the Foundation web site <a href="http://www.barbaracappochinfoundation.net/">http://www.barbaracappochinfoundation.net/</a> and simultaneously send all the documents as required in the regulations.

The languages admitted are **English and Italian**. There is no registration fee.

# Information and registration:

The Barbara Cappochin Foundation info@barbaracappochinfoundation.net/http://www.barbaracappochinfoundation.net/